something i'm working on with my friends this weekend:


A cheap, simple dinner for strangers and co-conspirators.

We are a small group of people who do a lot of other things in New York, like decorate subways and throw parties in the streets. We work with several collectives and art groups, like Toyshop, Madagascar Institute, and Rubulad. At Grub we're just offering dinner.

Whether you are active in other collectives, your neighborhood, your backyard garden, or just new to town, we invite you to our table. To get a little squishy, we are looking for practical ways to build community. We are particularly inspired by weekly dinners served at squats in Amsterdam in Berlin, where you can get a cheap, tasty meal and catch up with friends in a cozy room. We like parties as much as anyone, but we think there should be places to talk without a pounding sound system.

We are not gourmands nor fancy cooks; we offer simple food simply prepared. We will only be able to serve 40 people, first come first serve. There will be plates for vegans and vegetarians alike. Please come early and hang out.

Sunday, April 10
338 Flushing, at Classon, Brooklyn
G train to Flushing or Classon stations, J,M,Z to Marcy, B61 bus to Flushing
6:30pm doors, 7pm dinner
$ = pay what you want, and bring your own booze
for info: elstem @ yahoo.com



The Blow is a newer offering from K Records. word on the street is that their first album is out of print, so that should make this track a little more choice. i got it from Sto, but sans track names (if anyone knows the title of this track, leave it in the comments please). i could try to give you some background and tell you how close they are with Mirah and The Microphones, and how The Blow was sort of originally Get The Hell Out Of The Way Of The Volcano and all that. but i am really tired and in a bad mood, so you'll have to do some digging on yer own if it sufficiently perks your interest.
*Update: the track is called "Hey Boy", thanks chris.

• The Blow - Hey Boy

buy music, especially independent.


  1. this is so dope! what an amazing track!

  2. the grub is fucking brilliant. I'll be there If I can. Is there going to be any kind of meat for carnivores?

  3. The song's called 'Hey Boy.' And yeah, it's awesome.

  4. just bought the EP. so dope.

  5. this track is by far better than anything on the album i bought, which is mostly acapella.